Need Help with MX Records

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by shackrat, Jul 13, 2006.

1. shackrat

shackrat New Member

Greetings, I'm new to ISPConfig, but have managed to get things up and running for the most part. But I'm stuck on the MX record part which I don't believe is working as it should.

I have one domain (ex domain1.com) setup as the technical domain, with two NS A records pointing to the server which I'm installing ISPConfig on. No problem, the server is reachable and things are good. They're also registered with the host as nameservers too.

Now when I try to setup a domain to host a site is where I'm confused. I have that domain (ex domain2.com) pointing to the two nameservers from above ns1.domain1.com and ns2.domain1.com. When I create the site everything goes fine, except for one thing. The MX record is now found.

DNSReport.com says "MX FAIL MX Category ERROR: I couldn't find any MX records for domain2.com. If you want to receive E-mail on this domain, you should have MX record(s). Without any MX records, mailservers should attempt to deliver mail to the A record for domain2.com. I can't continue in a case like this, so I'm assuming you don't receive mail on this domain."

In ISPConfig the record looks like:

Code:
    Mailserver  	  Hostname 
      www.domain1.com  	  www
    First off, shouldn't the mailserver be domain2.com instead of domain1.com? And secondly, why is the www there? If I manually edit the DNS zone in DNS Manager, change the mailserver to domain2.com and delete the hostname, DNSReport says everything is ok.

So that is where I am lost. How can I make it so that when I create a site the MX automatically goes to site.com and no www as the hostname. Or at the very least, how can I get this working so I can create a site with a valid MX entry? I have tried with the Default MX box checked and unchecked.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited: Jul 13, 2006
  2. TheRudy