need some help with mail system and virtual users

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by meomike2000, Feb 23, 2009.

1. meomike2000

meomike2000 New Member

i am new to email systems. i have set up a machine via the perfect server howto on this site for ubuntu 8.04. i did not install the control panel at the end. i did install squirrelmail, and my mail account works, i can send and recieve emails. i would like to be able to add more mail users but want to be able to store the users with mysql. i would like for all the users to still be part of my domain though. can somebody help me with this.

i found the how to telling me how to set this up with virtual users and domains. i want all users to be on my domain. is this possible.

thanks in advance mike.

also i have a problem with my spamassassin. i get this mail everyday:

/etc/cron.daily/spamassassin:
    run-parts: failed to exec /etc/cron.daily/spamassassin: Exec format error
    run-parts: /etc/cron.daily/spamassassin exited with return code 1

2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

Yes, it's possible, but you must remove your domain from mydestination in main.cf and add it to the database. Also, you might have to remove your system user.

What happens when you run
    Code:
    /etc/cron.daily/spamassassin
    manually?

3. meomike2000

meomike2000 New Member

not found

!/bin/sh not found
    error: gpg required but not found!

4. meomike2000

meomike2000 New Member

couple more questions.

ok i have added the link to /bin/sh. that problem should be fixed. thanks.

but i still have a couple more questions, i want to switch mail to virtual users, but on my domain only but i still want a fully functioning mail system.