New server DNS questions

Discussion in 'General' started by stipeco, Oct 23, 2007.

1. stipeco

stipeco New Member

I followed the Perfect Fedora 7 setup tutorial and had a great experience once i decided to follow the ISPConfig installation instructions:D

I am also new to linux but have a great learning curve.

I own the domain "stipeco.com" and have it hosted with netfirms.

I want to host it myself.

My server name is ws1.stipeco.com

i created a client and site for stipeco.com
    ---------------------
    i created 2 A-Records

192.168.0.129 www
    192.168.0.129 ws1
    ---------------------
    mailserver

ws1.stipeco.com
    ---------------------
    hostname

stipeco.com
    ---------------------

i went to my hosting company and tried to change my name server to ws1.stipeco.com but it failed.

i tried to change the name server to my external ip and it failed.

!HELP!

What is the right step to take next?

Thanks,

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

You will have to setup a glue record at netfirms if a subdomain of stipeco.com shall be the nameserver for stipeco.com.

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16303&highlight=glue+record

You might also have to get a second server as secondary dns server.

DNS is not that easy if you are new to server management. Maybe you should consider to leave the dns service as a hosted service at netfirms for the beginning.

3. stipeco

stipeco New Member

I read the section that discussed glue records before my original post but was not sure if that was going to apply to me or not. Thank you for your reply.

I created a-record for ws1 with my hosting company

i can reach the server:81 by name:)

i deleted that a-record with my host and i am again unable to reach it.

that definitely had an impact
    recreated a-record with host

by creating this a-record with my host am i in fact creating the glue record?