Newbie starter guide on making site online

Discussion in 'General' started by kapatid, Mar 15, 2006.

1. kapatid

kapatid New Member

hi guys, im a newbie in here, My problem is i want to hosts my own websites,I got a DSL connection, and I have my own static IP. So when i search google about it, I found out ISPCOnfig is capable of it, then i found good wiki to start with. So now i got ISPCOnfig running on my Ubuntu 5.10, here's where my problem starts, im stuck,I don't know what to do next... I want to ask u guys a good starter guide for a newbie like me on how to hosts my own sites. What are the things that I would do...

Thanks, Hope to hear from u guys,

regards,
    Kapatid

2. edge

edge Active Member Moderator

kapatid,

You do not need ISPconfig for what you want to do.

ISPconfig is more a controll panel for server owners who want to sell serverspace (hostingplans) to others.

(With ISPconfig you can setup hostingplans like for $20 you get 20GB of webspace, 100GB of data use, 5 email addresses, ect ect..)

All you really need is a webserver (Apache), and FTP server (so you can upload your pages) and if you make use of a database you will need MySQL.
    You can also add things like PHP, BIND, and an email server.

ISPconfig will interface with all the above stuff, but it's an overkill for only one or two websites

3. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

If you are a newbie, I recommend to use ISPConfig because it lets you create multiple web sites, email and ftp users, MySQL databases without Linux knowledge.

What exactly is the problem you're having right now? Did you have a look at the manuals? http://www.ispconfig.org/documentation.htm

4. kapatid

kapatid New Member