Newbie with ISP config - Pre-Install Questions

Discussion in 'General' started by manarak, Apr 18, 2009.

1. manarak

manarak Member

Hello All,

I am a newbie with ISP config - if you can answer a few questions please...

I already own a server that has been running for over 2 years on Fedora and Plesk, but Plesk's new licensing scheme is rubbish.

I want to install a new server and I identified ISP Config as the most advanced Server Management Panel for my needs.

Server Hardware:
    AMD Quad, 4 GB RAM, 2x 320GB hot swap HDDs on Raid 1

I plan to install Cent OS 5 (because of the long support cycles) and a classic LAMP.

Question 1:
    should I go with ISP Config 2 or 3 ?

Question 2:
    I planned the following partitioning, is that ok for CentOS 5 / ISP Config:
    100 MB boot
    5 GB root
    1 GB /tmp
    100 GB /home
    15 GB /usr
    30 GB /var
    the rest on /opt

Question 3:
    are there other things, or stumbling blocks I should consider before proceeding with CentOS/ISPConfig?

Thank you for your help.

2. _X_

_X_ New Member

3. manarak

manarak Member

Many thanks for the link and your observation about Debian, Mr. X

I had 2 reasons to prefer CentOS over Debian.

1- The first reason are the support cycles.
    CentOS guarantees a minimum of 5 years between the release and EOL, while for Debian this can vary.
    Sarge for example, lasted less than 3 years, which is definitely too short for my taste.

But then, I don't know how easy it is to upgrade Debian?
    What did it take to migrate from Sarge to Etch or from Woody to Etch?
    Or from Etch to Lenny?

My server is in a datacenter, so I would like to avoid having to put CDs in the tray and stuff like that.
    The migration should also be fairly quick and easy so that I can avoid interrupting the service for too long.

In any situation, the easiest is still not to be forced to migrate.

2- Availability of help