Nginx services wont start

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by gLeW, Jun 18, 2018.

Tags:
  1. gLeW

gLeW New Member

Hi im new with ispconfig. i follow this guide to install
    https://www.howtoforge.com/tutorial/ispconfig-automated-install-script/
    The only change i made its to put Quota "no" because if i put yes, after restart the server givme some errors.

After complete this guide i make this other guide https://www.howtoforge.com/tutorial/securing-ispconfig-3-with-a-free-lets-encrypt-ssl-certificate/
    i see i have an error when try to star ngix.

I started again, reinstalled the server from 0, I just made the first gui, and try to restart the nginx service.

it gives me the following error
    when i put systemctl status nginx.service

givme this result
    Thanks

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Seems as if you made a mistake while following the second guide. There is an SSL cert missing now and that's why nginx can't start. The second guide instructed you to create a website for the server hostname in ispconfig and enable SSL and let'sencrypt for that website. My guess is that you either did not create that website or Let's encrypt was not able to issue an SSL cert for that site which then resulted in the missing SSL cert that now causes nginx to fail.

ahrasis and gLeW like this.
  3. gLeW

gLeW New Member

Perfect i already can.
    Thanks a lot

4. blacklotuss

blacklotuss New Member

Hi till, just ran into the same issue, may I ask how to fix it? I simply cannot enter ISPConfig in order to do it add the server domain since nginx won't start.

5. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

What shows
    Code:
    systemctl status nginx
    systemctl --state=failed

6. blacklotuss

blacklotuss New Member

Code:
    root@rockonnet:~# systemctl status nginx
    ● nginx.service - A high performance web server and a reverse proxy server