Noob here, just saying hi.

Discussion in 'Linux Beginners' started by Chris_UK, Aug 21, 2021.

1. Chris_UK

Chris_UK Active Member HowtoForge Supporter

Well okay I am not, you would think somebody who is reasonably knowledgeable in the what's and what nots of web developing would know a thing or two about what really not to do.

So, I am here and I am demoting myself to Linux noob status!

Why you might ask. Well, I shall tell you a story all about how I just turn into a noob in one sweet command line incident.

## SUMMARY
    Move /home/user to partition on second drive, check successful, remove remnants from old home, mount now home.

Sounds easy doesn't? And it is, it really really is. EXCEPT!
    Code:
    mv /home/user/* /media/mount

View old home, just to check few stragglers (ownership issues)
    Code:
    cp -r /home/user/* /media/mount

Success, copied. remove the stragglers
    press up arrow > home > change cp to rm add -f (ownership issues)
    Code:
    rm -f /home/user/* /media/mount

Forget that you just did both a copy and a move and that you are only removing /home/user/*, DO NOT look at the command line.. No, don't you do it just hit enter, you are an experienced linux user!!!
    Code:
    ENTER

The moment the key touches base, you glance at the command line, your eyes lock onto the last command you ran, then it dawns on you. You REALLY did not mean to delete all of the files that you just moved to your new home directory. You check in vain that you didn't all the while knowing you did.

You panic, you call yourself stupid names you don't know what to do, You hit google, the best friend you ever could have right now. You browse, you try a few things, you read of testdisk, yes, this will do what I need... No not doing it, how is it finding 1.5tb / 1.3tb on a 500gb disk. Help, no, something is very very wrong with this..