OpenLDAP + Samba Domain Controller On Ubuntu 7.10

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by mperreault, Jun 18, 2008.

1. mperreault

mperreault New Member

I'm following the tutorial called
    OpenLDAP + Samba Domain Controller On Ubuntu 7.10

http://www.howtoforge.com/openldap-samba-domain-controller-ubuntu7.10

I finished up until page 2 of the tutorial without any problem but after the reboot process I can't seem to login... When I type my username and hit enter it hangs and 60 seconds later it gives me an error without asking for a password...

I'm new to linux, so if you could hold my hand a little I'd greatly appreciate it...:rolleyes:

THanks!:)

2. Linocks

Linocks New Member

Have a look at this 'Thread'. I think it may solve your problem.;)

3. mperreault

mperreault New Member

Thanks Linocks!

I have 2 other questions.

1. I have the server up and running and I have a WinXP machine bound to my newly created domain. I was wondering if I wanted to take this HOW-TO a step furthur and allow the user documents folder to map to the server any suggestions on what I should do?

2. phpLDAPadmin doesn't seem to quite work properly. I am able to login anonymously however when I try to login I get the following error...

Could not bind to the LDAP server.

LDAP said: Undefined attribute type
    Error number: 0x11 (LDAP_UNDEFINED_TYPE)
    Description: The attribute type specified is invalid.

Thanks for any info people can give me!

4. sangamc

sangamc New Member

for the first part, i use the following logon.bat in the samba netlogon folder

cd H:
    IF NOT EXIST "H:\My Documents\." MD "H:\My Documents"
    regedit /s \\fds8\netlogon\redirect.reg

# H: is the user home directory specified in smb.conf
    # redirect.reg will set the registry for redirecting my documents