PCLinusOS 2007 "Loop File"

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by springheal, Nov 16, 2007.

1. springheal

springheal New Member

Burned ISO to cd. Booted computer and selected " Live CD. Loads for awhile and then get a red message that says " unable to load loop file " and I can not procede any further from here. I do not want to install it, only run from cd to try it out as I have read many positive reviews. I admit I am a newbie to Linux ( but have tried 8 or 9 distros, some great and some I can not get any further than where I am now with PCLinuxOS with similar problems, but not the same).

What is a " Loop File " and how do I overcome this problem.

Any thoughts or advise please ?

P.S.
    Linux uses far too many terms and phrases that are meaningless, confusing and gibberish to newbies which put many people off for good. PCLinux 2007 statement on welcome screen is " Radically Simple " !! Oh I wish I could discover if this statement is true or false. I may never get to find out !!

2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

Seems like a problem with the CD. Have you compared the MD5 sums of the original iso image and the one on your HDD? If they are the same, I'd burn the CD again, otherwise download the iso again.

3. springheal

springheal New Member