phpMyAdmin on tcp but should be socket Debian 12 Nginx

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Tim Reeves, Mar 26, 2024.

1. Tim Reeves

Tim Reeves New Member

My first post here, and first and foremost: My many thanks to Till for years of fruitful dedication to Linux and ISPConfig!

I'm a programmer and server manager, have previously been using Plesk (easier for my clients), but now Plesk licenses have become so expensive that I wanted ISPConfig for my own new private server. There's been a learning curve, sure, but now I have a "trivial" problem with an obvious solution that I can't find.
    ISPConfig 3.2.11p2

In nginx_apps.vhost.master there are these two lines:
    {use_tcp}fastcgi_pass 127.0.0.1:9000;
    {use_socket}fastcgi_pass unix:{fpm_socket};

The tcp variable is empty and the socket variable comments the socket line out. Result: Bad Gateway when I try to access phpMyAdmin (manually shifting the commenting out works). So I looked on the net where I can regenerate the apps.vhost correctly - and found only to use the updater! Well:
    System > Server Services > XMPP on, Save ; XMPP off, Save.

Inelegant, but it does the job - of regenaration, but the result is the same.
    Is this a bug? Apache is not installed, only Nginx and PHP-FPM, working fine in other contexts. Or how can I configure ISPConfig that it sets those variables for the template instantiation correctly?

For now I'll just use a custom-conf, which is a bit ridiculous; but I may need it soon anyway for RoundCube.
    Cheers,
    Tim

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Using TCP for php-fpm is fine for Nginx, php-fpm is available on socket and TCP by default. So, TCP is not related to Apache at all.