Possible server load issue with latest update

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by Jim Ji, Apr 6, 2016.

1. Jim Ji

Jim Ji New Member

Hi all
    I have been using isp3 for about 2+ years now using ubuntu 14.04 x64. (and isp2 before that)

We aren't an internet or hosting company, we use it to manage internal websites and email systems.

Last week I decided to push for an overhaul of all the servers and connect isp3 into a cluster so we can manage all the servers from 1 server.

I installed Ubuntu 15.10 x64 and latest ISP3 build p9.

Problem #1 - cpu usage spikes
    I noticed that every couple of minutes the server would spike in usage. This isn't something that we observed in prior installations. but of course, this new setup has a new ubuntu build AND a new ISP3 build so I am not sure if this might have something to do with it. (it also has mysql 5.6 instead)

While the spike isn't much, 10-25% usage for 2-3 minutes, this might be a concern if it happens during peak usage hours.

Problem #2 - higher than average server loads
    Another problem. The old mysql server was an 8gig ram server 4 core just like the new one. they are identical in hardware spec. only difference is 14.04 vs 15.10 and p8 vs p9. both server running mysql 5.6 with SAME my.cnf

however, after migrating to new server i have observed higher server loads than the old server. by a wide margin. seems to be 20-40% more cpu usage. high enough at one point to cause unrecoverable lag/bottleneck.

Once again, wondering if p9 has some cron job that triggers this kind of behavior or is 15.10 not very compatible?

Snip20160406_7.png Snip20160406_8.png Snip20160406_9.png

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer