Prepear FC3 for ISPConfig install

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by sushestvo, Oct 8, 2005.

1. sushestvo

sushestvo Member

Hi All,
    This is great software and I wanted to use it on my new server I just got. But I'm very new to Linux.
    I have a server with 2 IPs. (209.180.6.79 and 209.180.6.78) and I also have a domain name (mypersonalserver.com)
    Server I have - already includes clean install of Fedora Core 3. No GUI of course - SSH access only.
    In installation Guide is says to set hostname and DNS. I know to set hostname I need to type in my SSH "hostname something" - but what should I type there? My domain? like "hostname mypersonalserver.com"
    And How do I set up DNS w/o GUI?
    Pretty much, before I get to setting up Apt (by installation guide for FC3), what steps should I do and how through SSH? Including DNS, IPs and etc.
    I wuld really appreciate if someone can help me with this and I'm sure this would be useful for other people who will be installing ISPConfig on FC3 or FC4.
    Thank you.

2. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

That's described here: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_fedora_core_3_p3

Code:
    echo server1.example.com > /etc/hostname
    /bin/hostname -F /etc/hostname
    You should use server1.mypersonalserver.com or something similar, not just mypersonalserver.com. You need to create a DNS record for server1.mypersonalserver.com, but not on your local system, but on the name servers that are authoritative for your domain. Please ask your domain registrar how you can do this. Maybe they have some kind of web interface where you can manage the DNS records for mypersonalserver.com...

You do exactly what is described in the tutorial. Starting with page 3, you can use SSH to run all the commands.

3. domino

domino New Member