problem with vmware-image on an already running server

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by vistree, Aug 21, 2006.

1. vistree

vistree Member HowtoForge Supporter

Hello,
    I am new to this great software and the forum ;-)
    I am running an already configured server with another ISP. Now I want to change to ispconfig - but first want my customers to try it out.

My idea: I installed vmware-server on the webserver an than I download the great out-of-the-box ISPConfig image from vmware-website.

It is now running but I can't reach the control panel or any website (which are different from the already existing ones !) out of the internet.

The server has a public ip and I setup the vmware-image to use NAT. On both now run an apache2 and postfix ....

The server is reachable but the vmware-image not ;-(
    I tried to work with apache proxypass and .htaccess and apache mod_rewrite - but did't come to a result.

Does anyone in this forum tried out an equal solution?
    Or does someone knows "out-of-the-box" ( ;-) what to do, that the websites and mails on the vmware-ISPconfig reach there target?

Thank you a lot
    Kai

2. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

Did you configure your server to forward requests to your virtual machine? Why didn't you use bridging?

3. vistree

Hi Falco,
    thank you for reply.

I want to install on a hosted webserver - and there is only one public IP included :mad:

The Forwarding is exact the problem I can't fit. I tried to find rules for iptables to portforward incomming on port 81 to port 81 of the vm-guest. I think I have not the accect way how to implement.

The same is on using apaches mod_rewrite.

May knowledge is to small to get it work ....

Any hints?

Kai

4. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_xen3_debian_p6

5. vistree

Hi Falca,
    thank you for replying again - and for the link.