pure-ftpd: can't connect

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by cmsits, May 10, 2013.

1. cmsits

cmsits New Member

Its been baffling me for a couple of days. I followed the tutorial
    The Perfect Server - CentOS 6.4 x86_64 (Apache2, Dovecot, ISPConfig 3)

and at the bottom of page 4
    That's it. You can now try to connect using your FTP client; however, you should configure your FTP client to use TLS.
    But when I tried I got the SSL certificate
    but none of the data I put In showed up. I said ok & trusted the cerificate anyway as I know its my server and i'm connecting locally. & then I got

Error: Critical error
    Error: Could not connect to server

I used the Encryption: Require explicit FTP over TLS (I'm using FileZilla)

I'm quite new to this, where am I going wrong?

Any help would be truly grateful... Thanks :)

Last edited: May 11, 2013
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Seems as if you require tls in your client ithout having ls enabled in the ftp server configuration. Does it work without tls?

Btw. If you are quite new to this, why havent you choosen one of the recommended linux distributions debian or ubuntu? They are much easier to install then centos and even more table on the long run.

3. Hairy

Hairy Member

Did you configure TLS in pure-ftpd AFTER installing ISPConfig? The tutorial is whack and some of the services won't work after you install ISPConfig. The pure-ftpd TLS configuration step cannot be performed in the order that it appears in the tutorial.

Also note that the certificate created in the tutorial will NEVER be used by pure-ftpd. The correct certificate is automatically created for you in the /etc/pki/pure-ftpd directory.

Look at this:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61221

4. cmsits

cmsits New Member