Question about Running ISPConfig On Port 80 Using Apache's Reverse Proxy Feature

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by VMartins, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. VMartins

    VMartins New Member

    Hi All,

    I will proceed with the setup to change https:81 to http:80. But, first, I have one question. Actually I access my ISPConfig server using https://www.example.com:81 (I have no problems using diferents domains hosted on my server with https and 81). I want change to http://ispconfig.example.com, what I have to do? Do I need create a CNAME or A registry on DNS setup?

    Thanks in advance,

    Regards,

    Vinicius
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You may either use a cname or A-Record, both methods will work.
     
  3. VMartins

    VMartins New Member

    I followed two guides:

    The first is: ISPConfig - Install/Update deletes hostname from my domain from admin URL (http://www.howtoforge.org/forums/showthread.php?t=1362). I used this reference to change the admin servername from https://dominio.com.br:81 to https://admin.dominio.com.br:81. I change the two files mentioned in thread. I tried the acess the new domain and I had no problem.

    The second is: Running ISPConfig On Port 80 Using Apache's Reverse Proxy Feature (http://www.howtoforge.com/apache_reverse_proxy_ispconfig). I follow step by step, and the in the final (http://admin.dominio.com.br) didn't work.

    What kind of test I have to do? What is the common points of mistakes?

    thanks for any help,

    P.S.: Sorry for the bad english :)
     
  4. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    admin.dominio.com.br doesn't exist in DNS. You must create an A or CNAME record for it.
     
  5. VMartins

    VMartins New Member

    Falko,

    I will describe what I have done:

    First Step:

    1 - Create A entry: http://admin.sprinno.com.br;

    2 - Edit the /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php and change the https://www.sprinno.com.br:81 to the new domain ($go_info["server"]["server_url"] = "https://admin.sprinno.com.br:81";);

    3 - Edit the /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf and change the
    "ServerAdmin [email protected]" to [email protected]..., and in another point of the file "ServerName www.sprinno.com.br
    ServerAdmin [email protected]" to [email protected]...;


    Second Step:
    1 - After of the enabling of apache modules and change the files /etc/apache2/apache2.conf and /etc/apache2/sites-available/default, and execute /etc/init.d/apache2 restart I receive this message:

    "root@ns1:~# /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
    * Forcing reload of apache 2.0 web server... [Wed Oct 10 12:55:48 2007] [warn] module proxy_http_module is already loaded, skipping
    [Wed Oct 10 12:55:49 2007] [warn] module proxy_http_module is already loaded, skipping";

    2 - I comment and change the lines in file /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php to http://admin.sprinno.com.br;

    Nothing happen different.

    I can't acces using this address http://admin.sprinno.com.br, and the access for the ISPConfig control panel don't have distinction using: https://admin.sprinno.com.br:81, https://sprinno.com.br:81, https://www.sprinno.com.br:81 or the https://IP:81. The all results are the same.

    Thanks for any help,

    Vinicius
     
  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Please check your Apache configuration. You've loaded mod_proxy_http twice...
     
  7. VMartins

    VMartins New Member

    falko,

    I tried your tip, but I don't have sucess. Did I make some mistake?

    Code:
    root@ns1:~# a2dismod proxy_http
    This module is already disabled, or does not exist!
    root@ns1:~# /etc/init.d/apache2 force-reload
     * Forcing reload of apache 2.0 web server...                            [ ok ]
    root@ns1:~# a2enmod proxy
    This module is already enabled!
    root@ns1:~# a2enmod proxy_http
    Module proxy_http installed; run /etc/init.d/apache2 force-reload to enable.
    root@ns1:~# a2enmod proxy_connect
    This module is already enabled!
    root@ns1:~# a2enmod ssl
    This module is already enabled!
    root@ns1:~# /etc/init.d/apache2 force-reload
     * Forcing reload of apache 2.0 web server...                                   [Thu Oct 11 20:38:36 2007] [warn] module proxy_http_module is already loaded, skipping
    [Thu Oct 11 20:38:37 2007] [warn] module proxy_http_module is already loaded, skipping
                                                                             [ ok ]
    root@ns1:~#
     
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Instead of using a2enmod/a2dismod, take a look at the Apache configuration. That module must be enabled somewhere (e.g. in /etc/apache2/apache2.conf or /etc/apache2/httpd.conf); comment it out if you find it and restart Apache.
     
  9. VMartins

    VMartins New Member

    falko,

    Thanks for your help. I searched in all configs and didn't find entry about proxy_http... It's strange... Do you have another tip?

    Vinicius
     
  10. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What's the output of
    Code:
    ls -la /etc/apache2/mods-enabled
    ?
     
  11. VMartins

    VMartins New Member

    Code:
    root@ns1:~# ls -la /etc/apache2/mods-enabled
    total 8
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2007-10-11 20:38 .
    drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 4096 2007-09-15 21:29 ..
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   36 2006-09-08 06:00 cgi.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/cgi.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   40 2007-02-09 23:53 include.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/include.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   37 2006-09-08 06:00 php5.conf -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/php5.conf
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   37 2006-09-08 06:00 php5.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/php5.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   38 2007-10-08 13:42 proxy.conf -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/proxy.conf
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   46 2007-10-08 13:45 proxy_connect.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/proxy_connect.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   43 2007-10-11 20:38 proxy_http.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/proxy_http.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   38 2007-10-08 13:42 proxy.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/proxy.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   40 2007-02-09 23:53 rewrite.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/rewrite.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   36 2007-02-09 23:53 ssl.conf -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/ssl.conf
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   36 2007-02-09 23:53 ssl.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/ssl.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   39 2007-02-09 23:53 suexec.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/suexec.load
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   40 2006-09-08 06:00 userdir.conf -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/userdir.conf
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   40 2006-09-08 06:00 userdir.load -> /etc/apache2/mods-available/userdir.load
    root@ns1:~#
     
  12. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Looks ok... :confused:
     
  13. VMartins

    VMartins New Member

    Look so strange to me too. I try to figure out what I have done step by step during this both configuration...

    Thanks a lot Falko!

    Vinicius
     
  14. forengeist

    forengeist New Member

    I know the thread is one year old but with ubuntu 8.04 and ispconfig 2.25 this howto doesn´t work.

    i receive an error message from ispconfig "this is an shared ip address..."

    How can i fix it???

    Sorry my bad english.
     
  15. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    This means you're probably using the wrong address to access ISPConfig.
     

Share This Page