Question on ISPConfig 3 vs. ISPConfig 2

Discussion in 'General' started by scottrill2, Nov 12, 2010.

1. scottrill2

scottrill2 Member

Hello folks,

I have been avoiding ISPConfig 3 since I am a newb and there was not any documentation for it. I figured if I had installed ISPConfig 3 without a manual I would have ended up asking so many questions Falko or Till would have had to ban me on principle lol

But now there is a manual available for purchase so my questions are these:

1. ISPConfig 3 is for multi server setups, is it overkill for just one main server to use?

2. I am using a second server for mysql replication (See post http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48040 ) If I change from ISPConfig 2 to ISPConfig 3 will I be able to manage the slave from the control panel on main server?

3. Is there anything ISPConfig 2 does better? Or will I lose anything by switching?

Thanks as always folks,

Scott

2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

ISPConfig 3 is for single and multiserver setups, so it's not overkill for a single server.

Do you just use that server for MySQL replication, nothing else? You could set it up as a slave to have the ISPConfig database replicated to the slave, but in this case I think it's better to set up replication by hand.

I thin kthe only thing that isn't implemented in ISPConfig 3 yet is Python support. The rest can all be managed with ISPConfig 3 as well.

3. scottrill2

scottrill2 Member

Question on Python.

Thanks as always for the reply Falko,

I am mainly playing around with drupal and joomla, leaning more towards joomla.

I googled "how to tell if Python is running on a website" and I found a couple commands to tell me if it is on the server itself but not running on a website.

The "which python" command confirms it is installed. I believe I installed it following the perfect server tutorial.

But my question is: