RE: Perfect Server - Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by nibbles, Jan 25, 2008.

1. nibbles

nibbles New Member

I've been reading the Perfect Server - Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon for Ubuntu 7.10
    and found myself asking a few questions since I find myself to be a bit unclear or perhaps I just need it spelled out for me since I'm a noob :eek:

But, I'm using the desktop edition and loving it so why now stop :D .

1st and formost, I am interested in creating and hosting my website along with 5 other sites (2 are friends of mind) with very low traffic and thought the Perfect server idea was interesting to try out as a project to learn more.

As I'm reading the article, I'm having problems knowing how to apply it to having a website at home.

In my own case, my router is managing the dynamic ip address so basically I have a static address all the time.

- lastly, I am confused about the corelations to my registered domain name that I could use and how it should be reflected in my server.

Let's use www.mrnibbles.com as the example of my own registered domain.
    (fictitious of course :)

I will break down the parts I need to understand and hope someone could clear up my wondering mind :eek: :D :

Here goes:

On Page 2:

Enter the hostname. In this example, my system is called server1.example.com, so I enter server1:

I am asking myself the following:
    - Does it have to be my registered domain name? Or can in be an internal name I so chose?

PAGE 3:

7 Configure The Network

Curious scenario:
    - my router is currently assigning an ip address to the ubuntu server based on it's mac address to 192.168.0.100 however I was wondering if I would still actually need to explicitely specify it based on the howto?

In the part for editing the hosts:

vi /etc/hosts
    it's mentioned to add :
    192.168.0.100 server1.example.com server1

Once again, do I need to put my registered domain name her or can it be my own internal naming?

PAGE 5: