Recommendations - ISPConfig 2 or 3 ?

Discussion in 'General' started by sighkick, Mar 1, 2009.

1. sighkick

sighkick New Member

I confess that I am not an expert when it comes to using a CP but I can follow instructions to-the-letter.

My request is for a recommendation for using either ISPConfig 2 or ISPConfig 3 in a production environment [I run a very, very small hosting service more as a hobby than a business].

What are the advantages of both versions other than that Version 3 can run on separate servers?

Does version 3 have ALL the features of Version 2 including Quota?

If not, when will Version 3 likely to become stable with all the features of Version 2 [and more possibly]?

Thanks for your recommendations and advice.

David of New Zealand

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

I recommend to use iSPConfig 2 for that. For the advantages of ISPConfig 3 take a look at the ispconfig 3 release notes.

3. _X_

_X_ New Member

If i got it correctly main difference between ISPConfig 2 and 3 is that ISPConfig 3 has virtual users. This means that all user related data is stored in database (mysql). All settings, path settings mail data etc is in database. In case of ISPConfig 2 all users created are actual linux users of that server with folders and data and mail data stored on disk in real folders. This is the reason why default prefix for new user creation exists in ISPConfig 2.

Advantage of ISPConfig 3 is easier backup of user/clent/web data. Also because user data is stored in database you can have separate mail server for all users, separate file server etc. This concept should be safer because created users are not local linux users as in case of ISPConfig 2. Problem that I can see is heavier load on memory and CPU because MySQL is used for majority of tasks and it is more memory and CPU demanding process.