Redirect Email for a hosted domain

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by swamprat, Jan 10, 2008.

1. swamprat

swamprat New Member

Hello,

I'm using Centos5.

I host a domain but the users of that domain don't want email on my server, they would like to have all email for all their users forwarded to their AOL account such as.

info@xyz ---> [email protected]
    sales@xyz ---> [email protected]

I'm using postfix.

I'm a newbie and would need some step by step help in getting this done.

Thanks

2. volksman

volksman New Member

Depends on how you setup postfix. Can you dump your main.cf and post it here? Or describe your setup a little better...IE did you use a Howto from Howtoforge or did you build it from another document?

3. c0mputernick

c0mputernick New Member

4. swamprat

swamprat New Member

Thanks all for your replies.

Below is my main.cf as requested. A few words of clarification first as this might help.

I'm a newbie. The domains (url's) that I host such as xyz.com don't actually exist on my machine where postfix resides. xyz and several others are MS/Front Page web sites hosted on a server behind my firewall with a internal IP of 192.168.xxx.xx.

The fellow who set this up created virtual domains for these domains which some how point to the correct web site on the W3K box. Some when some one requests the page for xyz.com with an external IP of 216.254.xxx.xx it is found and the page is served up from the W3K box.

So the external IP/URL somehow resolves to the proper local address (192...) on the W3K box.

What the person who owns the xyz.com domain wants is to have all email which is directed to his web site not to reside in mail boxes on my local machine, he wants them forwarded to his AOL account...that's it. I don't have any idea if this can be done but if it can please give me a hand.

Thanks...main.cf and virtual are listed below. I was trying this out with a few changes but I didn't get it to work.