Run your own nameserver with ISPConfig 3 and a Godaddy Domain

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by dpicella, Aug 4, 2010.

1. dpicella

dpicella New Member

I am not a newbie to linux, but I am a newbie to DNS.

My goal is to register ns1 and ns2 nameservers for a godaddy domain and then set up my own ISPConfig 3 DNS to resolve DNS requuests for my websites.

This tutorial seems to be out of date since it uses Godaddy's old domain configuration tools and the example is also using ISPConfig 2.
    http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

Here is what I have done so far. If I can get this set up, then perhaps this can help somebody else with the same problem.

First, I set up my new server with ISPConfig 3 on the CentOS 5.5 OS according to the "Perfect Server" tutorial on this website. On page 5 of the tutorial, I followed the instructions to Install A Chrooted DNS Server
    http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-centos-5.5-x86_64-ispconfig-3-p5

Here is my DNS tab in the Server Config on ISPConfig 3
    [​IMG]

Question: Should I change my conf paths as follows? ...
    /var/named/chroot/etc/named.conf
    /var/named/chroot/etc/named.conf.local

Next, I set up my DNS Zone as follows:
    [​IMG]

Then, I set up the DNS Records:
    [​IMG]

I know this is not right but again I am a newbie to DNS.

Finally, I registered my nameservers (The next image is from my Godaddy domain control panel for the domain jpre.net) within my domain (jpre.net) and forwarded jpre.net nameservers to ns1.jpre.net and ns2.jpre.net:
    [​IMG]

When I restart the named service, I now get:
    Here are a few follow up questions and points:
    1. I also installed the caching-nameserver package ... is that a problem?
    2. My new server is on a fairly restricted LAN for right now until I get everything up and running. At that time I will colocate to a data center. For now, I have port 53 forwarded. I hope that is enough.
    3. I have not touched IPtables