Self-sustaining ISPconfig.

Discussion in 'General' started by Devil, Apr 29, 2007.

1. Devil

Devil New Member

Hello,

I'm very new to this business. My company has a a lot of space at a carrier hotel, so I have the freedom of having my own box there.

So, I'm thinking of having my own box where I can host my domains, mail and ofcourse get an own domain name server. Everything self-sustaining, no need to borrow services from my domain registrar like GoDaddy.

Pretty much everything on that server. dns.mymaindomain.com, dns1.mymaindomain.com, mail.mymaindomain.com which I can also use for my other domains.

I have this configured with ISPconfig so far. I'd love to add webmin to it, but unfortunately, it conflicts.

Just wondering how I'd go about all this.
    Is there a guide to making your own webhost, etc?

A current issue I'm having is this, I somehow got GoDaddy to point the A @ record to the box's IP, and ISP config configured to accept that domain.
    Now, I'd like to host the DNS on my box too, not on GoDaddy's.
    My server has bind9 running.

How would I do it?
    Last time I used my friends box, he let me host 2-3 domains with him. The first domain worked, the second time he just said to go on GoDaddy and add ns1.mymaindomain.com and ns2.mymaindomain.com and his box will automatically start hosting my 2nd domain's addresses, etc.
    I might not be explaining this right, so my apologies. But if someone knows how I can get this, that'll be great!

I tried doing this myself, but it didn't work. GoDaddy kept saying Invalid nameservers.

Also, a small problem:
    I'm unable to login via ftp. Why so?
    Password problem it says.

Please help.
    TIA.

Specs: Ubuntu Feisty 7.04, installation followed from the Perfect Setup.

Last edited: Apr 29, 2007
  2. mxc

mxc Member

I am not sure about go-daddy but all you need to do is add a nameserver record and point it to your server. Usually you just provide a fqdn and the ip addy of the server.