Set up subdomains in Bind9

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by fgm, Sep 19, 2022.

1. fgm

fgm New Member

Hello.
    As information, I am interested in learning free software, but in a self-taught way. I am not linux expert. I just intend to learn and enjoy what I'm getting.

Some time ago I set up a server with debian 11 on an old laptop, and little by little I built a LAMP server and I also added bind9 to manage internal and external DNS, because I would also like to add SAMBA and CUPS
    To manage my dimanic IP I registered in no-ip with a free account, and it works without problems, but I would like to manage my subdomains internally.

I installed nextcloud and set up a private cloud, where we share photos, videos and documents between the family, on the laptop that I mentioned before. We are only 7 users.
    Now I try to install collabora-office to share documents and modify them online, and for this I have created a virtual host within my domain, but I don't know how the DNS entry is created in bind9
    The domain name is miva.sytes.net, and the subdomain is collabora-miva.sytes.net.

For this I have followed the following installation guide >>>>>>> https:// fscene8.me/ nextcloud-collabora-hpd-installation-guide/

I can't open any file, and I think it's because the subdomain is not available on the internet.
    What I'm trying to do is add an office suite (collabora-office), inside my nextcloud (miva.sytes.net)
    I hope you can help me, and let's see if I understand it

Thank you
    Greeting

2. fgm

fgm New Member

Hello.
    I have not formulated the question in question correctly.
    I have created a virtual host within my domain, but I don't know how to create the record in bind9, to resolve the address of the new host name.
    Thanks.

3. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter