Set Up Ubuntu Edgy Eft Netboot - PXE Server - Unable to Connect to Internet

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by DigitalDaiquiri, Dec 23, 2006.

1. DigitalDaiquiri

DigitalDaiquiri New Member

Being relatively new to Linux, and this being my first server experience I ran into a problem on the "Setting Up A PXE Install Server For Multiple Linux Distributions With Ubuntu Edgy Eft" guide on page 2 (http://www.howtoforge.com/ubuntu_pxe_install_server_p2). Everything seemed to be going fine as I followed the steps through the first 3 pages of "The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.10 Server (Edgy Eft)" guide (http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu_6.10_p3) as directed by the article. Mind you I have almost no experience with network topology, I'm just beginning to learn about things such as DNS, and DHCP. Not understanding exactly what to do I edited my "/etc/network/interfaces" file to match the one on page 3 step 5 (Configuring the Network) of the 6.10 server guide. I thought everything went smothly (although I didn't edit it to specifically fit my network information but rather used the information in the provided example. This statement is also true in regards to editing my "/etc/hosts" file (I kept the example.com).

I continued on to page 2 of the PXE article and became stuck on step 4, "Set Up Ubuntu Edgy Eft Netboot". For some reason I am unable to download the needed files and am stuck with the following readout "open 'archive.ubuntu.com' [Resolving host address...]. I believe that I'm not getting a connection to the internet for some reason but I'm not sure.

I sincerely appreciate everyones time and help!

Ubuntu 6.10 (Edgy Eft)
    Gigabyte K7 Triton - GA-7S748 Series – AMD Socket A
    ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
    AMD Athalon 2500+ Barton Core Socket A
    128 MB DDR RAM

Last edited: Dec 23, 2006
  2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff