setting up Web Aliasdomain

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by martin1977, May 6, 2009.

1. martin1977

martin1977 New Member

Hello all.

I am struggeling to setup a redirect from one domain to another.
    I use Debain Lenny and ISPconfig 3 and installed it according to the HowTo "The Perfect Server - Debian Lenny (Debian 5.0) [ISPConfig 3]"

I have a webpage on domain1.com that is working and want to redirect all request on domain2.com to domain1.com.

As I understand it it should be possible to do that with "Web Aliasdomain". Unfortunatelly it seems I am too foolish to do that. However, whenever I request domain2.com in the browser I only get the standard Apache Welcome site.
    Could somebody please explain to me how this should be set? It feels I have tried out a lot and I am getting desperate.

Thank you
    Martin

P.S.: otherwise the software works nicely so far.

2. kolipoki

kolipoki New Member

Hey Martin,

Newbie here, but... the following might help, thou it is not the procedure you would be looking for. Nonetheless, it will have the same redirect effect in the meantime. In domain1.com, open the Apache welcoming message with an editor (maybe should also make a copy of the original before proceeding with the rest) and substitute the html code with this:

<HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>...</TITLE>
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="refresh" content="1; URL=http://www.domain2.com/">
    </HEAD>
    <BODY>

</BODY>
    </HTML>

This should do the job. However, it's kind of a workaround and it's not the server way to redirect if using virtual/multiple hosting.

Last edited: May 6, 2009
  3. martin1977

martin1977 New Member

That could work but I would prefer to do it in a different way, e.g. with the implemented function that comes with ISPconfig3.
    As domain2.com is a virtual domain there is no webspace assigned to it. The welcome message must be the global server welcome and I do not want to mess with that one for a single domain.