Some basic pre-installation questions

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by jeffw85, Nov 26, 2007.

1. jeffw85

jeffw85 New Member

Hi everyone--I have been reading these forums for the past couple months trying to gain knowledge and experience in server deployment. I am still very new to Linux but I have a strong desire to become proficient with it.

So with that said here is my scenario followed by my questions.

Server: Debian Etch (The Perfect Setup--completed--"Thanks Falko")
    server1.pipeline2020.com

Network Info: WAN - 1 Dynamic IP - 63.92.159.xxx
    LAN - 192.168.1.xxx
    Gateway - 192.168.1.1
    Netmask - 255.255.255.0
    Network - 192.168.1.0
    Broadcast - 192.168.1.255

Router Linksys - (with DynDNS updating to acehome.homelinux.net) Necessary ports are forwarded to 192.168.1.200

5 interfaces configured on server eth0 192.168.1.200
    eth0:1 192.168.1.201
    eth0:2 xxx.xxx.xxx.202
    eth0:3 xxx.xxx.xxx.203
    eth0:4 xxx.xxx.xxx.204

I have custom DNS services from DynDNS for pipeline2020.com which is a domain I own.

**I will preface my questions with the statement that I am attempting this for learning purposes only. Pipeline2020.com, although purchased for a purpose will be hosted on a commercial site when completed.

**My goal is to correctly configure a DNS server and resolve virtual websites to their corresponding internal ip's from the outside world. The primary reason is to provide ssl on each site that I run.

QUESTIONS:

(ISPConfig Install)
    1. During the ISPConfig setup, what do i use for the ispconfig web IP?
    2. What do I use for the hostname
    3. What do I use for the domain

(Publishing my DNS server)

1. Given I have control over the DNS for pipeline2020.com can what is the best way to publish my DNS server so it can be seen from the outside world?

2. Is there a way I can cheat on the 2nd nameserver required as I do not wish to set up another system (probably frugal anyway since I only have 1 IP)