Sorting DNS issues for best chance of non-flagged mail

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by schwim, Mar 28, 2023.

1. schwim

schwim Member HowtoForge Supporter

Hello there, everyone!

I'm a layman trying my best to understand what I'm reading when it comes to this, so please go easy. I have managed to resolve my ERRORs and am now left with just a few warnings that I can't figure out how to resolve.

My server is hosted at: 74.91.124.242
    FQDN: system.schwimserver.com
    I host the domain at 101domain.com and use their nameservers to provide A records pointing to my server.
    upload_2023-3-28_0-16-48.png
    upload_2023-3-28_0-25-20.png

dns schwimserver.com Local NS list does not match Parent NS list
    dns schwimserver.com Name Servers are on the Same Subnet
    dns schwimserver.com SOA Expire Value out of recommended range

Can someone tell me if these can be resolved with my hosting setup and if so, how I would go about it?

Thanks for your time!

2. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

The nameservers defined in the zone are not the same as registered for the domain. Determine which is correct, then set the other to same values.
    Ignore this, unless you have another location where you can run the second name server.
    Set the TTL to recommended value, I do not remember what it is but wikipedia probably knows.

3. schwim

Thanks for the help!
    I've not defined any nameservers in my ISPConfig install. Is that what I need to do to resolve this issue?
    upload_2023-3-28_12-59-2.png

4. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

You said you are using the DNS servers of your provider, in that case, do not add a zone for this domain in ISPConfig.

5. schwim

Then is this a warning that I cannot resolve in the way that the domain pointing is handled

6. nhybgtvfr

nhybgtvfr Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter