SSH issues.

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by McKay, Dec 27, 2019.

1. McKay

McKay New Member

Hello all, and to start let me go ahead and thank everybody who post!!!

I'm new to ISPconfig and I have everything setup so far, only issue Im having is when I create a new shell user in the ispconfig admin panel, everything works, I can login via SFTP but when I try to login to the ubuntu purple login screen for the physical machine itself it states authentication error and wont login, if I delete the newly created shell user from the ispconfig admin panel ubuntu logs in normally with no errors.

Any suggestions as to what may be creating this, I've googled and don't seem to come across any information other than setting up a shell user.
    System: Ubuntu 18.4
    ISPconfig: 3.1

Thanks you once again!!
    McKay :cool:

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Normally a web hosting system has no Ubuntu GUI installed, usually hosting servers are headless servers in a datacenter and get managed by SSH, so your setup is a bit unusual. Please have a look into the syslog and auth.log of your system to see which exact error gets reported there.

3. till

But you are not trying to use the ISPConfig shell user to login to an Ubuntu GUI, right? Because this can't work.

4. McKay

McKay New Member

Glad to see you on the post, I see you in a lot of post on here.

No I was trying to login using my normal login credentials. as soon as I create the shell user it starts the problem on my ubuntu gui, soon as I delete shell user its back to normal and will login. Creating an FTP user works perfectly with no disruptions to the ubuntu GUI, just the shell user. I did notice that the perfect server tutorial didnt install ssh on the ubuntu machine as I assume it figured you would be ssh-ing into the machine to setup the installation, so I installed ssh with apt-get install openssh-server.

5. till