Step-by-step instruction for securely enabling X-Original-To header needed

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by Abacop, Dec 1, 2021.

1. Abacop

Abacop Member HowtoForge Supporter

I just moved a lot of clients, to my ISPConfig 3.2.7p1 multiserver setup with redundant mailservers. Only afterwards I realized that there are issues with missing X-Original-To headers.

I found the following threads already addressing this:
    https://www.howtoforge.com/communit...inal-to-header-due-to-lmtp.85580/#post-411866
    https://www.howtoforge.com/communit...ng-with-newly-setup-server-with-rspamd.82819/
    https://forum.howtoforge.de/threads/x-original-to-header-geht-verloren-bei-postfix-dovecot.12284/

Since I'm still not an expert for mailserver configuration (and it is somewhat of time critical to get this to work) I'm worried to break (al least parts of) my setup. So I would very much appreciate a kind of step-by-step instruction to enable X-Original-To on my servers that includes some explanation of the consequences and how to ensure that the changes remain persistent through updates.

2. Th0m

Th0m ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

3. Abacop

Thanks for your reply @Th0m.

I tried to follow this:
    But my /etc/postfix/main.cf doesn't contain neither "flags" nor "DRhu".
    Same goes for /usr/local/ispconfig/server/conf-custom/install/dovecot_custom.conf.master and /etc/dovecot/conf.d/99-ispconfig-custom-config.conf

Am I looking in the wrong place? I'm quite lost here.

4. Abacop

The one thing related to X-Original-To in my /etc/postfix/main.cf seems to be

Code:
    enable_original_recipient = no
    For some reason it is set to "no". According to the following default should be "yes". Is there any reason why it isn't used by ISPConfig?

5. Abacop

It seems that this is related to this.

What I don't get: Would just setting
    Code:
    enable_original_recipient = yes
    potentially break anything?

Last edited: Dec 1, 2021