Sub domain Not working in ISPConfig 3

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by Donno, Jun 18, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Donno

Donno Member

Hi,
    I am new to ISPConfig. Setup a server two weeks ago and bought manual last week, I manged to setup two servers after a few attempts a primary server and secondary DNS server only. I have tested most of all the the settings and everything works really well except sub domains for websites, I have battled for the past two days :

I setup website and DNS and go to example.com it works.
    I log in to ftp for example.com and create folder def and in folder I create index.html and go to example.com/def and it works
    I go to DNS and make A record def i go to subdomain and create def.example.com Flag L and set Path /def/ then go to def.example.com does not work. I have even Redirect to google.com but also does not work.

ANY HELP ?

2. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

Have you created a website for def.example.com?

ahrasis likes this.
  3. Donno

Donno Member

No cause it is a folder in my main site that needs to be accessed by the main site. Is it optimal ? cause if you look at this video, this is what i am trying to do but not working for me ?

4. ahrasis

ahrasis Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

In there, subdomain for website is created (2:40 onwards), that is what @Taleman trying to say, so did you do that?

5. Donno

Donno Member

I created example.com as web site and def.example.com as sub domain and made A DNS Record for def.example.com

I did not create def.example.com as website because how would example.com access def.example.com. def.example.com is sub domain like example.com/def/ then main site can access the folder and if go to def.example.com it loads content of example.com/def/ but when i create it it does not work when i load def.example.com it gives error

This site can’t be reached
    def.*********.com’s server IP address could not be found.

• Go to **************. com