The Perfect SpamSnake - Ubuntu Jeos 10.10 - Managing transport relay_domains etc

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by mintydave, Dec 13, 2010.

1. mintydave

mintydave New Member

First, thank you for the SpamSnake. I've been running two for almost 3 years now and have filtered MILLIONS of emails.

On my Hardy (Ubuntu 8.04) SpamSnake, I got used to using Webmin's MySQL to manage the greylisting "whitelist" table, and the file in /etc/postfix for "transport", "relay_domains" and "relay_recipients" and others.

I see now that MySQL is playing a bigger roll in the spamsnake.

I copied my "transport" "relay_domains" etc.. from my old hardy spamsnake to my new spamsnake. Did a "postmap transport" and fed the snake a simple email from the command line using telnet.

I tailed the "/var/log/mail.log" file and found that postfix used DNS to deliver the email instead of using the designated IP addresss of the host for deliver from the "transport" list.

Is there a rerference for managing the postfix features now? Do we use MySQL or continue using the local files in /etc/postfix.

Any assistance is GREATLY apreciated.

Regards,
    David,
    Deconn Technical Services

2. Rocky

Rocky Member

Hey,

3yrs is indeed a long time. I'm happy that it's working out for you.

If you want to use the relay_domain and transport files from your older boxes, you'd have to edit /etc/postfix/main.cf and make it look like:

relay_domains = hash:/etc/postfix/relay_domains
    transport_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/transports

Make sure to edit those files accordingly and postmap them.

I've gone with a much easier approach to setting up the Snake,
    almost everything can be done through Baruwa. The mysql setup is
    the best way to do it now, since all the records can be created through
    the frontend with the exception of relay_recipients. Of course you can
    always use the system the old school way, the way you've been doing it