The ultimate home server/gateway

Discussion in 'Suggest HOWTO' started by Ka1N, Oct 26, 2006.

1. Ka1N

Ka1N New Member

Hi everyone.

I've been using custom Linux distros for the past 2 years for my home gateway/firewall (IPCop, SME Server, M0n0wall).

Tho they work quite well, I've always found it annoying when it came to managing or adding functionality to it. I've come to a point where I'd like to try and setup my version of the ultimate home server with Debian 3.1 (Sarge) for me and my fellow roommates. However my Linux knowledge, for the time being is quite limited to very simple administration of packages installed and configured by others. I'd like to start changing that and require your assistance.

I've checked and read a lot of guides on this site. And they are all very well written and maintained. However I find that many of them seem to be aimed at ISPs and others with fixed internet IPs. Which is not my case at all. Also,. I understand that by running everything off 1 machine is potentially dangerous (single point of failure). But hey, I only have 1 machine (2.8 ghz 1 gig RAM) that I'm willing to dedicate to it.

Here are some of the features I see this box doing. I'm sure I've missed things, please feel free to comment.

Stealth Firewall
    DHCP server
    DNS server (Update with dhcp leases and static hosts entry)
    Proxy server
    Bandwidth throttling
    Web server
    MySQL
    ProFTPd + Web management interface
    LDAP Server
    SAMBA support
    Mail server (Secure POP, SMTP & IMAP)
    Anti-virus
    Spamassassin (with reporting features per user account)
    Fetchmail from different POP accounts and put in appropriate user accounts
    VPN Server
    Road Warriors VPN into Green
    Road warriors VPN into Blue
    Users VPN from Blue to Green

Web based stats (hardware & software monitoring, mail, dns, dhcp, ftp, spam, virus, etc.)
    Critical Server Alerts sent to SMS device or if Asterisk is working, via voice msg.

Misc:
    IDS