Ubuntu "Perfect Install" - MYSQL Help Needed

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by thecgmguy, Nov 13, 2006.

1. thecgmguy

thecgmguy New Member

Hello Folks,

I've been trying to configure Ubuntu Server 6.06 according to the "perfect setup" guide here: http://www.howtoforge.net/perfect_setup_ubuntu_6.06_p4

I'm running into trouble configuring MYSQL.

I'm at the portion of the tutorial where I'm trying to specify a password for user root.

I start by typing this command:
    mysqladmin -u root password yourrootsqlpassword

That works fine. But when I type the following command:
    mysqladmin -h server1.example.com -u root password yourrootsqlpassword I get an error about my server not being allowed access.

Has anyone come across this before? Note that the above entry is an example. I've replaced my FQDN and actual password when actually doing this.

Thanks.

2. Nap

Nap Member

Hi thecgmguy,

I'm no expert here, but I seem to recall having a similar issue while I was installing Debian on my machine. I didn't report it here since it was not the first item on my priority list at the time and was intending to install ISPConfig (which I knew would test it later).

When I had ISPConfig loaded, I use phpMyAdmin to edit the MySQL privileges table and gave the appropriate rights to the root account. After that, I was able to login using root.

Cheers,
    Nap

3. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

4. thecgmguy

thecgmguy New Member

Thanks for the prompt replies guys.

Could I get clarification on what exactly these mysql commands are doing?

Thanks.

5. entel

entel New Member

yeah

I get the same error edgy eft

but..

Code:
    root@server1:~# cat /etc/mysql/my.cnf | grep bin
    #bind-address           = 127.0.0.1
    log_bin                 = /var/log/mysql/mysql-bin.log
    # WARNING: Using expire_logs_days without bin_log crashes the server! See README.Debian!
    max_binlog_size         = 100M