UFW Firewall rules generated in ispconfig don't seem to apply

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by davine, Jan 31, 2020.

1. davine

davine New Member

I'm very new to firewall and am sure I'm just doing it wrong. My problem is that I want a specific port closed but removing it from the list of open ports in ispconfig doesn't close it. Maybe that's not the way to do it, if so, please tell me.

Basically I have a mysql database set up on a different port than 3306 and I don't want it public, however even if the port is not listed as open in the rules on ispconfig, it's still accessible from outside the local network. If possible I'd like to open that specific port only to a specific ipadress if possible. Can I create specific rules at all or is it just "open" or nothing?

Sorry if this is a newb question and if it's already been answered before, I tried my best to find answers in the forum.

2. Th0m

Th0m ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

davine likes this.
  3. Steini86

Steini86 Active Member

You do that by editing your mysql user.
    See documentation: https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.5/en/grant.html
    Code:
    grant all on db.* to 'user'@'hostname' identified by 'password';
    Grants access from hostname (can also be ip address).
    To see current users do:
    Code:
    SELECT User, Host from mysql.user;
    For more information see also:
    https://serversforhackers.com/c/mysql-network-security

In ispc have a look at -> Websites -> Databases -> Choose Database -> Remote Access IPs
    (See also Page 163 in ispc Manual)

davine and ahrasis like this.
  4. davine

davine New Member

Thanks for the advice! This works, but I was kind of hoping that ispconfig could do these things for me. Why do the settings I make in ispconfig firewall not work? Shouldn't they be working? The reason I want a control panel is to avoid too much command line stuff since commands never stick to my memory unfortunately..

5. till