Unacceptable TLS Certificate - Raspberry Pi - solved

Discussion in 'Linux Beginners' started by EricN, Feb 19, 2022.

1. EricN

EricN New Member

Hello,

I’m a new networking student at a local community college. I tried to install an app on my Raspberry Pi but kept getting a “Unacceptable TLS certificate” error when I tried to install it. After several hours, I found a fix. I don’t know if anyone is going through the same issue but here is how I fixed it.

I’m taking a Linux/Unix class this semester and broke out the old Raspberry Pi (Maker: Vilros) to have a computer to try the commands that we are learning. I have the Pi set up to automatically start as a games emulator. If you have the same Pi, just exit out of the emulation program. When you are at the command line, to start the GUI OS I type “xstart” and the GUI OS starts.

To find out your version type: “uname -srm” without the quotes. When I started this morning, my Linux kernel was:

Linux 4.19.42-v7+ armv71

I was able to install Wireshark with a tutorial from this website. I also wanted to have a list of stocks running on my desktop and found one called Markets from flathub dot org website. I do not know anything about this website and will run an antivirus later on to be safe. I just wanted to install the app for stocks, so I tried:

“apt install flatpack”

Next their website says to “add the Flathub repository” (Not sure exactly what this does, more research for later on). So they want you to run:
    “flatpack remote-add - -if-not-exists flathub [see their website, I can't post links]” – note that between the 2 “-“ there is no space but MS Word likes to make it a solid dash so I put a space there to make it apparent.

This is the step where I got the error message. The error message was something like: “Unable to load summary from remote flathub: Unacceptable TLS certificate”

At first I thought this was a certificate issue. I tried to update the certificates: