Unreachable host DNS problem on

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by dedibox, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. dedibox

    dedibox New Member

    I've had intermittent problems reaching my web and mail servers. Tonight when I ping mail.vihinfo.net I get "cannot resolve mail.vihinfo.net" from my local machine, but testing from another machine (reached via Timbuktu) I can ping and traceroute mail.vihinfo.net without any problems.

    What's strange is that other domains on the same host can be reached, for example www.vihinfo.net works just fine.

    Where is mail.domain.com actually set up? My configuration was working fine with ISP Config's Create MX checked for each co-domain I set up. However, I added separate records for each mail.x.y instance. Is this correct or is it likely to cause more problems, given that I have checked the Create MX record box for every co-domain instance?


    From DNSreport.com I get:

    /etc/resolv.conf

    iptables -L

    /etc/hostname

     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Thats fine. Please check in the ISPCOnfig DNS-Manager that for none of the A-Records the hostname an IP address is not mixed up, e.g. hostname in IP address field and vice versa.
     
  3. dedibox

    dedibox New Member

    Two examples from domains that are causing me trouble:
    mail.domain.net won't lookup or www.domain.net won't lookup but domain.net (without the www) will look up and resolve properly.


    DNS Entry
    Title: papamamanbebe.net
    Server: dz
    Domain (SOA): papamamanbebe.net
    IP Address 88.191.14.190

    Nameserver1: 88.191.14.190
    Nameserver2: 88.191.254.71

    Refresh: 28800
    Retry: 7200
    Expire: 604800
    TTL: 86400

    A Record
    IP-Adresse - Hostname
    88.191.14.190 - www
    88.191.14.190 - mail

    CNAME: nothing

    MX
    Mailserver - Hostname
    sd-1494.dedibox.fr - www
    sd-1494.dedibox.fr - mail

    SPF - nothing

    Another example

    Server: dz
    Domain: vihinfo.net
    IP Address: 88.191.14.190

    Nameserver 1: 88.191.14.190
    Nameserver 2: nssec.dedibox.fr

    Refresh/retry/Expire/TTL = as above

    A Record
    IP-Adresse - Hostname
    88.191.14.190 - www
    88.191.14.190 - mail

    MX
    Mailserver - Hostname
    mail.vihinfo.net -
    sd-1494.dedibox.fr - mail
     
  4. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Please post the content of the file:

    pri.papamamanbebe.net
     
  5. dedibox

    dedibox New Member

    /var/lib/named/etc/bind/pri.papamamanbebe.net

    Code:
    $TTL        86400
    @       IN      SOA     88.191.14.190. admin.papamamanbebe.net. (
                            2007030501       ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
                            28800              ; refresh, seconds
                            7200              ; retry, seconds
                            604800              ; expire, seconds
                            86400 )            ; minimum, seconds
    ;
                    NS      88.191.14.190.              ; Inet Address of name server 1
                    NS      88.191.254.71.              ; Inet Address of name server 2
    ;
    
    www  MX      10 sd-1494.dedibox.fr.
    mail  MX      10 sd-1494.dedibox.fr.
    
    papamamanbebe.net.      A        88.191.14.190
    www       A       88.191.14.190
    mail       A       88.191.14.190
    
    ;;;; MAKE MANUAL ENTRIES BELOW THIS LINE! ;;;;
    
     
  6. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    Code:
                    NS      88.191.14.190.              ; Inet Address of name server 1
                    NS      88.191.254.71.              ; Inet Address of name server 2
    
    Your NS needs to be a name, and not an IP!

    You will need to create two A record's with NS1 and NS2 pointing to 88.191.14.190 and 88.191.254.71

    It should look something like this:

    Code:
    $TTL        86400
    @       IN      SOA     88.191.14.190. admin.papamamanbebe.net. (
                            2007030501       ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
                            28800              ; refresh, seconds
                            7200              ; retry, seconds
                            604800              ; expire, seconds
                            86400 )            ; minimum, seconds
    ;
                    NS      ns1.papamamanbebe.net.              ; Inet Address of name server 1
                    NS      ns2.papamamanbebe.net.              ; Inet Address of name server 2
    ;
    
    www  MX      10 sd-1494.dedibox.fr.
    mail  MX      10 sd-1494.dedibox.fr.
    
    papamamanbebe.net.      A        88.191.14.190
    www       A       88.191.14.190
    mail       A       88.191.14.190
    ns1       A       88.191.14.190
    ns2       A       88.191.254.71
    
    
    ;;;; MAKE MANUAL ENTRIES BELOW THIS LINE! ;;;;
    
     
  7. Spoiler

    Spoiler New Member

    hi,

    same problem here.

    i have differnet domais (vhosts)
    - gz.intranet.paf...
    - mysql.intranet.paf..

    Now i added a new one: rep.intranet.paf...

    this entry is unreachable. I tried a lot: restarted the server, make the entry for the records manualy

    the suggestion edge postet i tried too. No changes ... still unreachable.

    It's one machine with one ip-adress ... only 5 records ... 4 work fine and one is not reachable.

    Now ... what to do to fix that problem??

    Thx.
     
  8. martinfst

    martinfst ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    You will need to fix this also, or your mail will not work.
    Use e.g.
    Code:
    dig @localhost MX domain.tld
    to test your local DNS setup. Look in the log files to check for errors.
     
  9. Spoiler

    Spoiler New Member

    i have no MX records ;)

    So ... i deleted rep.intranet....

    The next try to create a new subdomain ... the same result.

    I tried:

    Code:
    dig @localhost A de.intranet.paf.de.kaufland
    and got:

    Code:
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> @localhost A de.intranet.paf.de.kaufland
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 1639
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;de.intranet.paf.de.kaufland.   IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    de.intranet.paf.de.kaufland. 86400 IN   A       10.128.218.9
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    intranet.paf.de.kaufland. 86400 IN      NS      10.128.218.9.
    intranet.paf.de.kaufland. 86400 IN      NS      10.128.217.104.
    
    ;; Query time: 1 msec
    ;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(localhost)
    ;; WHEN: Tue Mar  6 14:21:00 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 115
    
    seems to be ok??

    Log-Files tell me no error ...
     
  10. martinfst

    martinfst ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    The output looks like it should be.
    Is DNS listening on the external IP's? You can check with
    Code:
    netstat -tap
     
  11. Spoiler

    Spoiler New Member

    i cleaned up the database (deleted old entrys) and now it works.

    dont know why.

    thx so far
     
  12. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    I hope you didnt delete anything manually in your ISPConfig database, otherwise you would have messed up your setup now.
     
  13. dedibox

    dedibox New Member

    My mail is working just fine, except for the unknown host problem described.

    What's wrong with having my mail exchanger at the "main" domain name?

    How do I fix this?

    Do I manually edit the config file?

    Or do I make changes in ISPConfig?
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2007
  14. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    Do it in ISPconfig!

    ISPconfig > DNS manager > and select the domain.
    Now create an A record with hostname: ns1 and IP Address: 88.191.14.190 and ns2 and IP Address: 88.191.254.71

    If this is your default NS1 and NS2, than you might also need to set Default NS1 and Default NS2 in ISPconfig > Management > Settings > DNS to the ns1.papamamanbebe.net and ns2.papamamanbebe.net
     
  15. martinfst

    martinfst ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    This means mail needs to be addressed to [email protected].

    If you want to receive mail, I assume you would want [email protected]. You can remove the hostname in the Panel in the MX record area. (DNS)
     
  16. Spoiler

    Spoiler New Member

    it's me again.

    Now there are 2 other domains, i can not reach.

    Ping from workstation AND from Server told me "unkown host".

    Both domains worked fine in the past. But now: unkown host.

    What can i do now?
     
  17. Spoiler

    Spoiler New Member

    it is unbelievable ... today one of the domains is working.

    But i have changed nothing!

    Any Ideas?
     
  18. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    DNS changes need up to 48 - 72 hours to become active, normally it takes around 24 hours.
     
  19. Spoiler

    Spoiler New Member

    on an intranet-server for a local network?

    all domains work immediately when i added them. A few days later the first domain stopped working and again a few days later the 2nd domain stopped working.

    Then (see above) i tried and tried and tried ... but nothing happend.

    But now ... the 2nd domain is working and i changed nothing for at least one week.

    I dont understand that ... ok, im not a dns-expert ...
     

Share This Page