Virtual Host / Sub domains / Perfect Server

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by sean1983, Mar 31, 2011.

1. sean1983

sean1983 New Member

Hi, Im pretty new to Apache and DNS etc, I will first explain what i have currently.

I have an external webhost hosting my website 'sean1983.com'
    I have a SubDomain 'home.sean1983.com' A Record pointed at my home IP Address'
    I have a Computer running XenServer with OpenSUSE 11.4 Setup /w ISPCONFIG (Following Perfect Server Guide)
    The Computers are behind a D-Link NAT Router.

Okay so this is what i would like to do.

I wanted to be able to create virtual hosts on my Suse Server and have them prefix my home.sean1983.com e.g. Virtual host 'live' would appear 'live.home.sean1983.com'. What i have done so far is via my External Host CPanel i have setup a wildcard *.home.sean1983.com as A Record. Then configured two conf files in the vhost.d/ folder. one for home.sean1983.com for default page and one for live.home.sean1983.com.

when i goto home.sean1983.com, i get the test page for that virtual host,
    but when i goto live.home.sean1983.com i get the same test page as home.sean1983.com not the correct one.

There is a few things that i am unsure of, I dont know if i need a vhost conf for the default page as i asume it would take default from normal apache www path. but when i placed the live.home.sean1983.com conf in vhost.d folder it became the default. Also am i corrent putting my home IP on my webhosts DNS as a A Record not CNAME.

I think i am close to making it work, i think there is something small i am doing wrong here.

Also one thing i would like to add is, When i go into ISPConfig > Sites and Create a new site. Apache crashes. and i cant restart it until i have removed the file it creates for the site in the site-enabled folder. Not sure what is happening here

All i want to do it have virtual sub domains on home.sean1983.com

Any help would be fantastic please?

Thanks

Sean Yem

2. i-chat