virtual machine setup using KVM in ubuntu 9.04 server

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by linuxnub, Sep 30, 2009.

1. linuxnub

linuxnub New Member

ok im new to linux....... like i started playing with it 3 days ago. my boss asked me to take a look at ubuntu 9.04 server and have a play with the KVM software while he was away. and i found a thread on your site http://www.howtoforge.com/virtualization-with-kvm-on-ubuntu-9.04 and it explains everything.

so i have installed it and run the tests to see if the machine i am using can indeed run the kvm, and it can so that is all sweet.

i get upto the part where it tells me to type "vi /etc/network/interfaces" and i get the screen sugessted. and i start to modify it so eth0 can act like a bridge for multiple VMs. after trying that i notice i have made a huge mess of it and have no idea how to exit or undo anything i have done. and im worried that if i just hit the reset button i will screw something up.

is there any advice any1 can give me to work around this problem??

cheers
    brendon

2. matey

matey New Member

Hi;
    I am fairly new to linux too but I never like to use vi editor!
    I know those who use it love it and wont use anything else but I just have too much problems with it so I use pico (nano).
    if you typed pico and it didnt come up do ;
    apt-get install nano

then instead of vi use pico
    to exit vi you can hold the shift down and hit Z twice
    it will Not save the changes.

pico is much like the old DOS editor, you make changes and do a control x to exit and type y to save changes n for no.

oh BTW in vi you have to hit the Esc key and A for alphabet (to write using the regular keys).
    hit Escape again and it goes back in the non-alphabet mode.
    so if shift-Z put a Z in your document hit escape first.
    lol

Last edited: Sep 30, 2009
  3. linuxnub

linuxnub New Member

cant hurt to give it ago, if all else fails reinstall ubuntu..........

4. linuxnub