vtiger CRM 5.02 on Ubuntu 6.06 LTS Server (Dapper Drake) - update

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by cheros, May 20, 2008.

1. cheros

cheros Guest

Busy with installing vTiger on Hardy, following comments:

cpp-4.0 is now cpp-4.1, gcc-4.0 is now gcc-4.1

vTiger version is presenty 5.04.

Current issue: an install can still pretty much follow the clear description as provided in the HOWTO, but throws up various errors. It starts with awk:

./vtigercrm-5.0.4.bin: 2550: awku=/usr/bin/awk: not found

It then continues to generate the same error:

[: 2550: ==: unexpected operator

Anyone any idea? From what I can see it appears to have a problem with awk based processing, so I wonder if re-installing awk may help but I'm not a coder :-(.

2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

What's the output of
    Code:
    which awk
    ?
    If it isn't installed, try to install it like this:
    Code:
    apt-get install awk

3. cheros

cheros Guest

Did that - it's installed..

That was about the first thing I did :).

/usr/bin/awk

This is on Ubuntu 8.04, with the latest vTiger .bin file. As far as I can see I may have to resort to doing it all manually on a full LAMP box :-(

I had a quick look, and there are a few interesting things here (I used nano -w to look at the content):

1) The error occurs where apparently the binaries begin (according to the line number it prints)
    2) The OS detection will fall through, AFAIK it will not pick up "Debian" as Ubuntu alternative, but I'm not a code hack so I don't quite know what then happens (other than when I hack the file by forcing Debian it fails again right where the binary part is.

It also asks me where the Apach install IS, not where it should put it (i.e. it appears to assume Apache is already installed).

Thanks for looking at it (Danke vielmals :).

BTW, may have something interesting for you, will email separately this week :)

4. falko