Webmin installation without desktop

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by jreid08, Aug 8, 2006.

1. jreid08

jreid08 New Member

Hi, I'm a newbie to Linux and I'd really prefer to run the server without a desktop. I noticed that there is documentation on installing Webmin on Ubuntu 6.06 located at http://www.howtoforge.com/node/1388 and I was wondering if anyone knew of similar instruction for installing Webmin with the normal LAMP installation. I would prefer not having KDE, Gnome, X and so on running on a server since I believe it poses a risk for a machine that will be public.

Any help would be appreciated,
    JR

2. guardian

guardian Member

Basically you can use the same approach.
    1) Log in like root with ssh
    2) Download webmin:
    Code:
    wget -c http://heanet.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/webadmin/webmin-1.290.tar.gz
    3) Follow the installation info at webmin website:

Code:
    When unpacked, the distribution creates a subdirectory called webmin-1.290 under the current directory. Since recent versions of Webmin support installation into a directory of your choice, you can pick a destination directory such as /usr/local/webmin. Then run the following commands in the directory containing the webmin-1.290.tar.gz file :

[root@yourhost /tmp]# gunzip webmin-1.290.tar.gz
    [root@yourhost /tmp]# tar xf webmin-1.290.tar
    [root@yourhost /tmp]# cd webmin-1.290
    [root@yourhost /tmp/webmin-1.290]# ./setup.sh /usr/local/webmin

When the setup.sh script is run, it will ask the following questions :

* The Webmin configuration directory
          The directory in which all Webmin configuration information is stored. This is now separate from the Webmin install directory, so that configurations are saved when you upgrade.
          If you have previously installed Webmin and use the same config directory, this will be the only question asked.

* The Webmin log directory
          The location for pid and webserver log files.