Website location problem

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by kcjones, Feb 27, 2009.

1. kcjones

kcjones New Member

I just installed ubuntu 8.10 server and ISPConfig 2.2.29. I'm new to the linux environment, but everything seemed to go ok. I set up a reseller, client and web site (call it www.example.com), but have a couple of basic problems.

First, when I launch example.com, the web server picks up the index.html file in the web root - that is, in /var/www - instead of going to /var/www/web6/web, as it should. There is a symbolic link in /var/www for www.example.com which points to /var/www/web6/web.

Second, initially, I was able to get into mail config. Then I installed uebimaiu mail. Now I can't log in at all. It accepts the [email protected] user and password, thinks for moment, then fails. Is is true that there must be mail waiting before you can initially log in? I did send mail to this account from another mail account, and the mail was not returned, but there seems to be no sign of it on the server.

Thanks for any help with this.

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Did you follow exactly the perfect server guide for ubuntu 8.10 to install your server?

3. kcjones

kcjones New Member

Yes, I followed the perfect server guide exactly. Most things seem to work now, like proftp, ssh, mysql, and ispconfig. Between my posting and your reply, mail started to behave a little better - I can log onto the mail system now, though I don't seem to be able to send or receive mail yet.

The main issue for me is still the web site problem. Any help getting this working would be much appreciated.

4. till

Please post the last 80 - 100 lines from the apache2.conf file.

5. kcjones

kcjones New Member

The end of the apache2.conf file follows below.