What version of Linux should I use and other advice?

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by johntp, Dec 21, 2006.

1. johntp

johntp New Member

Hi all, first post and I admit I'm a Linux noob, so if I ask dumb questions that's why.

I figure I'll set up the network like this...

DSL MODEM ----- LINUX BOX ----- Routers ----- Clients

I want to set it up this way because I want to use the server as a network firewall.

I'm considering using a Linux server in my office. The office is really small (6 or 7 employees) so as far as server load and network load is concerned there shouldn't (hopefully) be in issue. I need some advice as to what version of Linux I should use. I'd prefer to use somethign free (Fedora or something) but I need it to run a few services. Also, all the other computers on the networks (clients) are running WindowsXP pro.

Act as network firewall
    File sharing services
    Printer sharing services (network attached printer if it matters)
    Run automated backups (just of the server and files on it)
    Web-server
    NAT services (maybe, definately not a big deal)

I'd also like the server to maybe distribute software to my windows machines. I don't know if this is possible (I doubt it) but maybe if it is you could enlighten me.

I guess all pretty basic server stuff. I don't' know, like I said I'm a noob. Anyway, if you could recommend a version of Linux (I've used Fedora 5 a bit and like it but I don't' know if it'll work as well as something else but it's pretty noob friendly). Also if there are any guilds you know of to help me. I use Google but I can't find to much help.

Thank you guys so much,

-John

Last edited: Dec 21, 2006
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Its not a good idea to use the same server as firewall and file sharing, printer, etc. server. I recommend this setup:

DSL Modem -- Router -- Server + Clients behind the router.