Windows Shares not visible

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by Nap, Oct 8, 2006.

1. Nap

Nap Member

Hi,
    I have a W2K server running with a number of folders shared. I have gnome installed on my Debian machine (since I am new to Linux) and I used Falko's wonderful install guide to get the basic LAMP services running. I then installed ISPConfig.

When I use the File Browser in Debian, I click on the "Network" icon, then click on the "Windows Network" icon, and then click on the "abmsdomain" icon (my LAN domain name).
    After the above, I have a list of machines that are on my LAN (exluding the Debian machine) which includes my W2K server. However, when I click on the W2K server machine, instead of seeing the available shares, I get a message saying:

The folder contents could not be displayed.
    You do no have the permissions necessary to view the contents of "Windows Network:W2Kserver".

I've had access to the shares on that machine in the past. I used the file sharing to move the ISPConfig-2.2.6.tar.gz from my windows machine onto my Debian machine. I am wondering what I need to do to get it working again.

For the M$ people here, I have also added the Debian machine to the "Active Directory Users and Computers".

Can someone please help?

Cheers,
    Nap

Last edited: Oct 11, 2006
  2. Nap

Nap Member

BUMP

This is a big problem for me since I can't use my browser to download files because the browser hangs my machine.

I know it's not a password issue (though it's possible that it could have something to do with PAM, but I don't think so).

I'm not saying that installing ISPConfig broke my file access, but it was working before I installed it. So it has to be related to a setting I've made wrong somewhere.

Can someone please help?

Cheers,
    Nap

3. Hans

Hans Moderator Moderator

As far as i know to have access to Windows machines you have to install SAMBA client on your Linux machine.