A couple of questions from a newbie!

Discussion in 'General' started by acecjh, Mar 11, 2010.

1. acecjh

acecjh New Member

Hi all,

I have just completed the 'Perfect Server Ferdora' install, which went without a hitch. I am familiar with linux world, but I am new to the web hosting / networking world, so I hoped I could ask a few questions.

Firstly - I have completed the install and have a fixed IP address with all of the appropriate ports open on the firewall. How do I actually point domains at the server? Is it as simple as registering them through a domain registrar and pointing them at the IP of the server or is there anything more that I need to do? Does ISPConfig and Apaches virtual hosts handle the redirection of the traffic based on the domain name whan it arrives at the server?

Secondly - I wish to run two servers in parallel, incase one fails I would want the backup to keep serving websites. What is the best way to do this? Is there any support in ISPConfig to automatically mirror a webserver or are there any other neat ways to do this?

Many thanks,

Chris

2. BorderAmigos

BorderAmigos New Member

Firstly - Yes. If all is configured correctly the server sorts out which domain to go to.

Secondly - If both your servers are behind the same router and have local IP addresses, you can just switch the port 80 forwarding from one to the other. If they are not behind the same router then I don't know but would like to find out.

There is a new mirroring feature in 3.0.2. I'd like to learn more how that works.

3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer