A little help

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by mindswept, Mar 25, 2008.

1. mindswept

mindswept New Member

Hi all,

This may be a little long winded but some advice would be greatly appreciated.

After to many frustrating years with microsoft software and sytems I have decided to give Linux a go. Fedora is a really attractive option but after probably to much reading I am confused at where to start.

I run a small business with only half a dozen workstations at most. While at the moment I am just looking to set up a file and possibly email server, a do wish a little later in the year to take over the hosting of my own site and mail.

I have an ISO of Fedora 8 and am really at a loss as to weather or not go simple or set up a fully fledged server now and grow into it. I have some experience with unix through the mac platform and generally adapt quickly to learning and change.

Any thoughts and guidence would be much appreciated, perhaps one day I can return the favour or help someone else out who is in my position...

Thanks ahead for any responses

2. zcworld

zcworld New Member

personal i would do the full server setup now

or you could do if you got an free pc or an good end system like with 2 GB of ram or more
    run an VM copy of fedora in there as an full server website with like www / mail
    so you know what your doing and use it as an test bed before you do it to the real box

if you do the full setup now
    you can disable the services you dont need ATM via the termianl window -> type
    setup and than pick like services from the menu list and disable them that way

3. mindswept

mindswept New Member

Thanks heaps

Would you recommend the how to? It looks fairly compehensive and pretty easy to follow. Although I am struggling at times with commands, it's been a while!

4. zcworld

zcworld New Member

look at the ISPconfig for Fedora
    to handle the
    Email / web hosting

you can run on that box
    an privte DNS server