Few questions regarding naming convention and migration of cPanel to ISPConfig

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Clouseau, Nov 9, 2014.

1. Clouseau

Clouseau Member

Hello,

this is my first post here :) I have a few questions regarding naming convention in ISPConfig3.

1) database prefix, database user prefix, ftp prefix an other prefixes - Can they be changed on the fly? I mean, if I have 25 users with default naming cheme and then if I decide to switch to some other scheme like no ftp and shell prefix, no database user prefix, will it work? This I ask only for in theory.

Here is the main problem:
    I will have to take over cpanel hosting with about 100 users. I want to switch from cpanel to ISPConfig because I'm a sysadmin that is used to comandline so cpanel pretty sux for me and I don't wanna pay for a licence because I don't need cpanel gui for managing. Naming convention of cpanel is like this:
    database name - username_dbname
    ftp user,shell user,database user - username

So, when I install ISPConfig to new server, I could change default scheme to this:
    Database name prefix - [CLIENTNAME]_
    Database user prefix - EMPTY
    FTP user prefix - EMPTY
    Shell user prefix - EMPTY
    Webdav user prefix - EMPTY

Above naming convention would be the same as like in cpanel. After I migrate 100 users, I could leave the naming convention like this. What if I decide then to change that naming convention to default one on ISPConfig because I think it is smarter, would there be problems, especially when doing ispconfig upgrades? Or should I just leave it like that and use it for newcomers? If I leave it like in cpanel, would I encounter any problems, especially during ispconfig upgrades? I know that renaming of domain would be a problem but I would not allow that, would allow only creation of new domain and migrating stuff...