FTP Help/Understanding

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by filch, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. filch

    filch New Member

    Well ... I figured out what one of the problems was: I must have been doing something in the ISPConfig admin and it generated new index.html files. Now we use index.htm so the default files were superceeding mine. Could be a feature request that when it is generating new default files that it look for previous index.htm or .html files and ask before creation or overwriting.

    Now, the other problem is that I cannot start httpd. It simply fails but there are no entries in any of the logs at all for it that would relate.

    Let me poke around a bit and if I cannot find it I will post the config. The other concern is that the ISPConfig server is also not running and again .. no log entries that I can find.

    Dave
     
  2. filch

    filch New Member

    Apache not starting

    I am still stumped. I cannot get the overall apache to start and cannot get the ispconfig server to run either. Netstat shows no other processes using the needed ports and there are no errors that I can find logged anywhere. All syntax checks come back OK. My dns resolves fine and my resolve.conf file is correct.

    Man ... what next. Any ideas? (I bet this is going to be some studpid mistake I have made .... ;-()

    Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  3. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    This whole part is missing at the end of your Apache configuration:
    Code:
    <Directory /var/www/sharedip>
        Options +Includes -Indexes
        AllowOverride None
        AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
        <Files ~ "^\.ht">
        Deny from all
        </Files>
    </Directory>
    
    ###############ispconfig_log###############
    LogFormat "%v||||%b||||%h %l %u %t \"%r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\"" combined_ispconfig
    CustomLog "|/root/ispconfig/cronolog --symlink=/var/log/httpd/ispconfig_access_log /var/log/httpd/ispconfig_access_log_%Y_%m_%d" combined_ispconfig
    
    <Directory /var/www/*/web>
        Options +Includes -Indexes
        AllowOverride None
        AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
        <Files ~ "^\.ht">
        Deny from all
        </Files>
    </Directory>
    
    <Directory /var/www/*/user/*/web>
        Options +Includes -Indexes
        AllowOverride None
        AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
        <Files ~ "^\.ht">
        Deny from all
        </Files>
    </Directory>
    
    <Directory /var/www/*/cgi-bin>
        Options ExecCGI -Indexes
        AllowOverride None
        AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
        <Files ~ "^\.ht">
        Deny from all
        </Files>
    </Directory>
    
    Include /etc/httpd/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf
    (Make sure you use the correct path for Vhosts_ispconfig.conf in the last line.)

    What's the output of
    Code:
    netstat -tap
    ? Is this a physical server or a virtual machine?
     
  4. filch

    filch New Member

    I do not recall ever seeing this stuff at the end of my apache config and, I do not even have a Vhosts directory. Crazy! Where in the httpd.conf file did this 'missing' code go? After the Include?

    Here is what I have:

    /etc/httpd

    drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 Feb 13 09:05 conf
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Feb 9 02:21 conf.d
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 19 Feb 7 12:15 logs -> ../../var/log/httpd
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 27 Feb 7 12:15 modules -> ../../usr/lib/httpd/modules
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 Feb 7 12:15 run -> ../../var/run

    /etc/httpd/conf

    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 33831 Feb 11 10:58 httpd.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 12958 Nov 12 10:44 magic
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 33831 Feb 12 15:17 mail
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Feb 12 07:31 sites-available
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Feb 12 07:31 sites-enabled

    /etc/httpd/conf.d

    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 295 Nov 12 10:44 manual.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1796 Apr 22 2005 perl.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 560 Jul 16 2008 php.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 566 Nov 12 10:44 proxy_ajp.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1671 Jan 6 2007 python.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 392 Nov 12 10:44 README
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 332 Apr 17 2008 squid.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 96 Jan 23 17:11 squirrelmail.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 9677 Nov 12 10:44 ssl.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 352 Jan 8 2007 webalizer.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 299 Nov 12 10:44 welcome.conf

    That's it for httpd

    My netstat output is attached.

    What's the output of
    Code:
    netstat -tap
    ?

    Is this a physical server or a virtual machine?

    Physical server with virtual hosts.

    Dave
     
  5. filch

    filch New Member

    Hummm ... this app does not understand .rtf files. Sorry about that. Attached is output of netstat in txt.

    Dave
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 13, 2009
  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    But you did install ISPConfig, didn't you? Did you see any error messages during the installation?

    Do the directories /root/ispconfig and /home/admispconfig exist?

    Which ISPConfig version did you install?
     
  7. filch

    filch New Member

    Yes of course I installed it ... latest V3 from the trunk. I followed your instructions to the letter and saw no errors. It was working. In fact, I did create several sites with it and a few databases. And no, I do not have /root/ispconfig nor /home/admispconfig.

    If need be, how do I uninstall V3?

    Dave
     
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Oh, sorry. Somehow I was thinking you're using ISPConfig 2, not 3.

    ISPConfig 3 does not come with its own web server, it's using the main Apache, that's why you cannot "start" ISPConfig.

    Can you post the outputs of
    Code:
    ls -la /etc/httpd/conf/sites-available
    and
    Code:
    ls -la /etc/httpd/conf/sites-enabled
    ?
     
  9. filch

    filch New Member

    I did get this all running. Had to reinstall apache AND ISPConfig and then redo all the symlinks but it is all working now. However, I have a question setting up FTP through ISPConfig. I have it working (sometimes I need to restart pure-ftpd though ... and sometimes I do not), but I need to understand how the permissions are supposed to work. When I set up an ftp user for a specific site, I am always getting permission errors. Can't create folders or download files etc.

    Now, I believe the UID and GID is set to the account assigned to the site so should be able to write and delete etc .. yes? Why would this not be the case?

    Thanks for your help and your patience.

    Dave
     
  10. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The UID and GID of the FTP users are set to the uid and GID of the web and this works fine for me. maybe you restored files with the wrong permissions or you try to upload files or create folders were you should not be allowed e.g. outside of the "web" directory.
     
  11. filch

    filch New Member

    Ftp

    Well OK .. I am getting this now. Finally. Last thing I am trying to track down and a couple of interface questions.

    Does ISPConfig, due to it's monitoring of services, continuously make connections from 127.0.0.1 in order to determoine if the server is up or not? I ask because I have a continous list of connections to the ftp server in my system logs. I have a high load problem which I am trying to solve. As well, rkhunter is spawning a large number of processes, which is loading down the server considerably.

    Finally, should something be showing up under tools? I have phpmyadmin installed but it does not show up.

    Thanks for you replies and time.

    Dave
     
  12. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Every 30 minutes by default, so that should not cause too much load.

    Did you install the phpMyAdmin package from ispconfig.org? That one shsould show up under Tools, but if you installed phpMyAdmin manually or from your distribution's package, it won't show up under Tools.
     
  13. filch

    filch New Member

    Well it is showing the following in my logs:

    Feb 21 11:20:25 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 11:25:34 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1
    Feb 21 11:25:35 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 11:30:37 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1
    Feb 21 11:30:37 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 11:35:22 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1
    Feb 21 11:35:22 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 11:40:34 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1
    Feb 21 11:40:34 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 11:45:31 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1
    Feb 21 11:45:31 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 11:50:30 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1
    Feb 21 11:50:30 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 11:55:23 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1
    Feb 21 11:55:23 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 12:00:33 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1
    Feb 21 12:00:33 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] Logout.
    Feb 21 12:05:34 redpine pure-ftpd: ([email protected]) [INFO] New connection from 127.0.0.1

    Seems like it is connecting every 5 minutes. Where is the setting for this?

    I did not install the phpMyAdmin package as I am using ISPConfig V3 and I believe you said that there was no package available for V3? Should anything else show up under Tools?

    Dave
     
  14. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, that's right. In ISPConfig 3, there's nothing yet to show up under Tools.
     
  15. filch

    filch New Member

    OK Cool.

    Can you tell me where the settings for the service monitoring are? Monitor seems to be checking if pure-ftpd is up every five minutes. (see my previous post).

    Dave
     
  16. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    There are no settings for the monitor module available.
     

Share This Page