How of create an automated backup of system+files

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by jeremy, Feb 16, 2006.

1. jeremy

jeremy New Member

I am running FEDORA CORE 4 on a HP Proliant ML350 server. CPU provide additional HDD slots, so i would like to create a complete bootable system + file backup so in the case of a HDD failure i can reboot and restore the server at no significant loss.
    I read the HOW TO's on creating a backup system image, but i assume this is only relevant in restoring a 'perfect' system image to a failed system, so of course this is assume that the hardware (HDD) is fine. In my case I want to protect against possible hardware failure.
    Does anyone have any ready-made "How-to's" or links you can provide. I must point out that I am very new to this level of system admin.

2. ryoken

ryoken New Member

for a complete and bootable copy of your main hdd, i suggest you setup a raid1 mirror. basically, the 2nd hdd will be an exact replica of the 1st/main hdd. if your 1st hdd dies, the 2nd hdd will automagically take over.

note that this IS NOT a backup solution. if you want backups, you will need something like amanda (for daily, weekly, monthly backups), or rdiff-backup (but u will need to bake your own scripts based on your needs).

3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

4. ryoken

ryoken New Member

cool... ghost for linux :cool:
    ill definately keep this in my toolkit! :)

5. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

If you want rdiff-backup, have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_rdiff_backup :)

6. jeremy

jeremy New Member