Invalid Certificate warning for all services except web...

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by WATYF, Dec 5, 2020.

1. WATYF

WATYF New Member

I've got a VPS running CentOS 7.9.2009 and Pure-FTPd 1.0.47. I've got all of the basic stuff up and running (web, FTP, email, etc), but I'm new to SSL so I'm having a lot of trouble getting it to work with my various services. I purchased a PositiveSSL cert, thinking it would work with all of the services, but apparently that's not the case. I have it working for web (which is the one thing I *don't* need it for), but can't get it working properly for the ISPConfig control panel, FTP or Email. I setup the cert in ISPConfig3 for my domain in the Sites panel, but nothing changed except the web aspect. For ISPConfig, FTP, and Email, I get an invalid certificate warning telling me to store an exception if I want to connect to the server. I thought purchasing a cert would make that go away, but apparently not. Obviously I can still connect, but why am I getting this warning for everything except web? Is there something else I need to do to get this cert to function properly for all of the other services?

2. Th0m

Th0m ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

3. WATYF

WATYF New Member

Are you saying I should put the .crt file they sent me in the "web" folder and then reference it in the steps mentioned in that tutorial? What about .key and .pem files? They didn't send me those.

Would I be better off scrapping this cert and just using Let's Encrypt?

4. WATYF

WATYF New Member

I should mention that I also have a Let's Encrypt cert. I had a lot of trouble figuring out how to get FTP to work with SSL and one of the steps I tried was this script, which created the cert: https:// github.com/ahrasis/LE4ISPC

5. Th0m

You can install the cert in the SSL tab of your domain.