ISPConfig 3.1 test on centos 7.2

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by NRP, Sep 6, 2016.

1. NRP

NRP New Member

Hi all,
    Sorry if this is a stupid question, i am very new with ISPConfig.
    I have ISPConfig running on Centos7 (version 3.0) without issues. not much load as it's just a bit of personal fun and exploration at the moment. the feature set is great and i'll at the very least buy the manual and support as well as i can (i'm not fishing for special treatment i'm just really amazed with it and having a lot of fun)

Now the reason for the post, i was trying to install ISPConfig 3.1 on a fresh Centos7.2
    (following: https://www.howtoforge.com/tutorial...ql-php-pureftpd-postfix-dovecot-and-ispconfig)
    and i always get the message:
    [...]
    [WARN] autodetect for Mailman failed
    Force configure Mailman (y,n) [n]:
    [...]

Earlier i had a same message with postgrey and installing the service cleared it, dumping db and restarting the installer got me to the mailman warning. however after having tested mailman and tried to check log files and could find any issue with mailman.

My questions are,

1) Will forcing configuration (mailman or any other service further ahead) have any negative impact?
    2) I read here and there that the suggested OS for ISPConfig is Debian, I've picked Centos only because I've really always used it and it's comfortable, should I leave the comfort zone and do a new installation on Debian (8.5?) and ISPC3.1? any drawbacks? ( from what i see only roundcube is not supported)

Thank you in advance for any insight!
    Nuno

2. Jesse Norell

Jesse Norell Well-Known Member Staff Member Howtoforge Staff

A quick search in that tutorial looks like it might be missing the command to install postgrey (though I've not followed/used that tutorial myself).