ISPConfig security

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Joffar, Feb 28, 2006.

1. Joffar

Joffar New Member

Since I am brand new to the Linux world and ISPConfig I have a few questions...
    How is the ISPCOnfig security against malicious intruders right out of the box? recommandations
    Should I add rules in the IPtables as well as the ISPConfig built in firewall? If so, any recommandations?
    how does the ISPConfig built in firewall stack up against other firewalls out there?
    Is there a log from the firewall that I can look at to see what is going on?

Any thoughts on adding Awstats as a ISPConfig monitoring tool?

Thank you for all help!

Last edited: Feb 28, 2006
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

This depends on how secure your Server is configured. Do you use SuExec? Do you have PHP Safemode enabled for all sites. Does your SSHD is protected agains dictionary attacks? There are many more things that you can do to secure your server, but they are not specific to ISPConfig.

ISPConfig uses the bastille firewall. Bastille is a script to configure IPTables or IPChains.

Bastille is an IPTables / IPChains firewall. If you dont like it you can use any other firewall with ISPConfig.

You can activate loggin in the bastille configuration under /etc/Bastille. Dont forget to change the configuration tenplate in /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/ too, if you want to add changes permanently.

If someone builds an awstats extension, we will add it to ISPConfig.

3. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

AWstats is very complicated to set up - I once did it for one web site, and it's not a matter of minutes.
    Because it is that complex, we haven't integrated it into ISPConfig yet. But if someone comes up with a module for AWStats, we'd be happy to integrate it.
    For now, you can set up AWStats manually for each web site that needs it.

4. Joffar

Joffar New Member

Thank you.